How to Guides – Sharing your Video’s online

From time to time you might want you share your video stories online with friends and family.  Now uploading to Facebook is easy, but what if you don’t want everyone to be able to see the video? Then you need to look at using an online video sharing tool like YouTube.  But if you don’t want to stream the video and just want your friends or family to be able to download the video then try using a tool like DropBox, which we talked about in the last chapter.

Now with YouTube, you have 3 different options on how to share your video. They are:

  • Public,
  • Private
  • and Unlisted.

Public Video

A public video means that, it means that everyone can see the video, link to it, comment on it and share it.

Private Video

Now a private video is means that your video is private and won’t be listed on YouTube. You can share a private YouTube video with up to 25 people using their email addresses, but they need to have a YouTube account to access the video. This is good option to use if you want to share your video online, but you want to have control over it. But a key thing to remember here is never upload any family videos that contain sensitive footage. As cute as it is, you’d never upload a video that has footage of your kids say in the bath or running around the backyard in the nude. It’s just not worth the risk

Image

Unlisted Video

Unlisted Videos are similar to private videos in the sense that they aren’t listed publicly on YouTube, but unlike the private videos they can be viewed by anyone who has the link. Now If I’ve made a mini film of my kids and I want to share it with my family then I’ll usually just upload as an unlisted video on you tube, it’s just easier.

Image

Ok so let’s take a look at how to upload a video onto YouTube using your Mobile Device? To begin you need to have a YouTube account. If you don’t have one, create one and if you do open up the app.

Now click on the Camera Icon, which is located in the red bar that runs along the top of the app. Once you do this the app will open up your gallery where you can select the video file that you want to upload. Do this and you’ll then be taken to a screen where you can add a Video Title and Description as well as select the type of video you want to create. Which is Public, Unlisted or Private. Once you’ve done this, press the arrow in the top right-hand corner and your video will upload to YouTube.

You can also do it through it within most editing Apps, like iMovie by simply going share and selecting YouTube.

Now once your video is uploaded the next step is to share it and you can do that easily by pressing on the 3 vertical dots on the right-hand side of your video copying the share link and then pasting it into an email, Facebook message or even SMS.